How I Got My Resume

I attended the Resume Building workshop on September 9th.  This lecture was held at the University Career Center.  I pinned this event when I first saw the list of Business Dynamics approved career building events because of its apparent usefulness.  It did not disappoint.  The event was very terse and loaded with useful information.  

 

Most of the information involved a central theme of presenting one’s self in concise, organized, and professional manner.  Formatting played a large role in the presentation.  The greatest rule here was normality.  The resume should appear simple and easy to read.  Another common theme was “putting your best foot forward”.  This includes listing all items on the resume from most important to least so as to organize the information for employers who might be only skimming a resume to find information.  This also means eliminating all skills and activities that are not relevant to the job being applied for from the document.  Additionally, resumes should be limited to one page, and must therefore be concise.

All in all, I am glad I went to the event. I plan on writing my own resume before winter break so I can apply for a local internship over the upcoming summer.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

